Disable Warning When Emptying Trash

When you Empty the Trash using Finder you will see a warning confirming you want to continue. This tweak disables that warning.


To implement this tweak:

  1. Start a new Terminal session (in Finder click Applications > Utilities > Terminal).

  2. To disable this setting, type (or copy and paste) the following command:

    defaults write com.apple.finder WarnOnEmptyTrash -boolean false
  3. To reset this setting to the default value, type (or copy and paste) the following command:

    defaults write com.apple.finder WarnOnEmptyTrash -boolean true
  4. To activate this tweak immediately, type the following command, or wait until the next reboot:

    killall Finder
  5. Close the Terminal session by typing exit at the prompt.

Disclaimer: Making any changes to your system can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. We cannot guarantee that problems resulting from these modifications can be resolved. Please follow the instructions carefully and use the information provided at your own risk.