Disable Automatic Backup in iTunes

When you connect a device (iPod, iPad, iPhone) to iTunes it will always perform an automatic backup prior to syncing the device. This tweak can be used to disable this time consuming process.


To implement this tweak:

  1. Start a new Terminal session (in Finder click Applications > Utilities > Terminal).

  2. To enable this setting, type (or copy and paste) the following command:

    defaults write com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled -boolean true
  3. To reset this setting to the default value, type (or copy and paste) the following command:

    defaults delete com.apple.iTunes AutomaticDeviceBackupsDisabled
  4. To activate this tweak please close all instances of iTunes, or wait until the next reboot.

  5. Close the Terminal session by typing exit at the prompt.

Note: You must perform manual backups if this setting is active as automatic backups will no longer occur.

Disclaimer: Making any changes to your system can cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. We cannot guarantee that problems resulting from these modifications can be resolved. Please follow the instructions carefully and use the information provided at your own risk.